Just another WordPress.com weblog

Posts tagged ‘Book Sneeze Program’

Nightmare City

Nightmare City

Nightmare City by Andrew Klavan

Tom Harding, a reporter for his school’s newspaper is trying to write the story of the year. As a reporter, he only wants to report the truth but for this story he’s not sure of what is the truth.  He wakes up from what the thinks is a dream and he was in heaven. As he walks around his empty house, he hears his dead brother calling from the basement and then out of no where the monsters begin to come on the scene.

Nightmare City is unlike anything I have ever read from Andrew Klavan. He is a master storyteller and this tale is no different. It is part ghost story and part psychological thriller. The tale is  creepy and keeps the reader guessing which is what Andrew Klavan does best. The tale has a message behind it which is truth will always win out but the reader doesn’t begin to think about anything but the action until it tale is complete. I would highly recommend this to any teen who likes horror and a quick read.

Note: I received a copy of this title from publisher, Thomas Nelson through their book sneeze program



BelovedBeloved by Robin Lee Hatcher

Diana Applegate is getting on with her life, she has accepted a marriage proposal from a gentleman who has been a friend of hers for years. The only problem, her husband shows up at her engagement party. Tyson Applegate had been presumed dead after his body could not be recovered in the Cuban war.

Diana met and married Tyson at the age of 17 and had fallen head over heels for this rich young man. Diana has lived a hard life, she was left at an orphanage and separated from her biological brother and sister. She was adopted by a wonderful couple and grew up in Montana.  Diana after husband reappears makes a deal with him to resume their marriage in name for his run for Senate in return for a house and money enough to live on her own with her mother.

This conclusion of the Where the Heart Lives series will not disappoint Robin Lee Hatcher fans. As with the other books in the series, this book can be read as a standalone. The book was a quick and enjoyable read. The story’s theme shows how people can change themselves when they begin believing in God.  Ms. Hatcher uses not only one but two characters to demonstrate this theme. There is a lot of romance in the story which will please historical romance fans. The one criticism I had, was that the ending seemed rush. I would have liked to seen an additional chapter that wrapped up the entire series, rather than just this title. It left me wanting to know more about the siblings but still I thoroughly enjoyed the books.

Note: I received a copy of this title from publisher, Thomas Nelson through their book sneeze program.


Letters to Katie by Kathleen Fuller

Letters to Katie

Letters to Katie by Kathleen Fuller

Kathleen “Katie” Yoder loved Johnny Mullet since she was a little girl. Johnny is her best friend’s, Mary Beth, brother. Johnny, however, has never given Katie the time of day. Katie has been waiting for Johnny for years and spending her time working at the local Amish restaurant. One day a young man sits at her table and begins to take interest in her. This young man has to leave town but begins to send letters to Katie. Meanwhile, an event happens to Katie wiping out some of her memory and changing things for Johnny.

This is the third novel in the Middlefield Family series. Although this novel is the third in the series, it can be read as a standalone. Letters to Katie was an enjoyable read and in the same format as most Amish fiction. From the beginning the reader can feel that the character Isaac was introduced to instill jealousy in Johnny. The secondary plot between Cora and Sawyer was just as compelling. Sawyer’s decision to stay in the Amish life even though Cora’s offer could set him up for life while still valuing family over everything.

I would recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys Amish novels. While it does not break any molds of the Amish books, it is still an enjoyable read.

Note: I received a copy of this title from publisher, Thomas Nelson through their book sneeze program.


betrayalBetrayal by Robin Lee Hatcher

In 1881 in Wyoming, Julia Grace has lost husband and is trying to make ago of the ranch left behind by her husband.  As a single woman in the west with little experience of ranching her life begins to take a change when a drifter wanders on to her land. This story is not only a love story but one of trusting in God and his plan.  The scripture Ms. Hatcher leads the story with sets the tone of this historical fiction… And those who know Your name will put their trust in You, For You, O Lord, have not forsaken those who seek You.  Psalm 9:10 NASB

This is the second novel in the Where The Heart Lives series, and continues the story of Brennan siblings. Although this novel is part of the series, it can be read as a stand alone. I found Betrayal as a quick and enjoyable read. Ms. Hatcher reveals the back story of Grace’s life and why she is hesitant to trust anyone while revealing a little more about Hugh and his struggles which have led him to be hesitant to trust anyone. The reader can easily identify with the each character through their struggles earlier in their life. Although this story is listed as a historical fiction, the time period is definitely in the past, the story itself could have been told in the present. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a light romance.

Note: I received a copy of this title from publisher, Thomas Nelson through their book sneeze program.

His Love Endures Forever by Beth Wiseman

His Love Endures Forever by Beth Wiseman

Eighteen-year-old Danielle Kent lives in Canaan, Colorado an Amish community.  She lives with a couple who have invited her into their home after leaving her own mother. The couple is not Amish but have been accepted by the community even being allowed to attend their services. Danielle has flourished in Canaan with her best friend Levi and her substitute mother, Martha. Her happiness is threatened when her boyfriend leaves her once he discover she is pregnant.

This story will not disappoint Beth Wiseman fans. Many of the characters are reintroduced from the Land of Canaan and Daughters of Promise series.  The book is a quick and easy read. It has a few subplots that helps tie the story to others in the series. The characters continue to be developed in this story while interacting with this new character Danielle. The story allows readers to understand not only a little more about the Amish faith but the heartaches of the Amish mothers who see their children reject their faith and those that stay true to their upbringing. If you like Amish fiction this title will not disappoint.

Note: I received a copy of this title from publisher, Thomas Nelson through their book sneeze program.