Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Love of a Dog

I recently lost my dog for about 17 hours. He had gotten out of our fenced in yard at dusk and wandered away. I spent the night thinking I had lost my baby.  I got home at 9:00 p.m. to hear that he was nowhere to be found. My husband and I looked for about 3 hours in the dark for him to no avail. We went to bed and got up early at dawn to resume the search. After searching for 3-4 hours with no sound or evidence that he was alive, we decided to give up for the night.

You see my dog is quickly approaching 17 years old and has  become senile. He walks the floors at night bumping into everything. That fateful day when he wandered away from home, we thought his heart had given out and he was laying somewhere on our property dead. I mourned for my dog and really just wanted to find the body to say goodbye. My husband went off to work and I went inside to take a break.

If you have been reading my blog over the years, you know that I am a religious person and a believer in Christ.  As I watched t.v., a voice came to me saying “trust me and go search.” I believed that God was telling me that he was with me and my prayers would be answered if I went out looking again. I did just that. As I and one of my cats (Boots) walked our property, I began to hear a faint bark a ways away. I got in my car and drove around the neighborhood. I didn’t find Seamus but saw two dogs. I went back to the house and sat on the front porch just to collect my thoughts. Again, I heard a faint bark and really believed that it could be my dog. I never in the last 13 hours or so thought that there could be a hope that my baby was alive but then hope began to spring inside me. I remembered the words trust me and I decided to follow that barking. As I began walking, I realized that I would have to go deep in the woods and into my neighbor’s property. I walked to my neighbor across the street’s property and heard the barking louder. I began to call my dog’s name and heard him answer. After walking down a steep hill and across the swampy area, I found my dog wedged up in an old tree stump hole. I never rejoiced so much. (I didn’t realize how much, until my husband played a voice mail message I had left him.)

Now forward to today. I watched a move, Hachi: A Dog’s Tale this morning.

This movie touched me and made me cry. The bond between an owner and his dog can be a very powerful bond. Seamus had the will to live and continued to bark to let me know where he was. I praised God for his message to trust him and never give up to find my dog. Although his time with me is probably short, my dog has shown his loyalty to me. I am glad I never totally gave up on him and trusted God but at the same time I am glad that he never gave up on me. I will appreciate every day I have with him even if it is just a few days or several more years.

Leave a Reply

SHEREE POOLE MINISTRIES

INDUCTIVE BIBLE STUDIES

