Just another WordPress.com weblog

Deer Pants

As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, Oh God. (Psalm 42:1) I recently was reminded about this verse as I was reading Where is God by John Townsend.

A deer when he gets overheated like most animals begins to pant to get more air in it’s system to cool them off. I recently was watching the Wildoutdoors on the Outdoor Channel and saw Jay Gregory watch a buck lay down in a creek panting to cool off.  Jay remarked that this was an experience he had not had before. That video clip really impressed an image into my mind that I tied with this verse.

I am like a deer panting when I search for God. My soul needs him to calm me and complete me. I was designed to search and serve HIM.  One of the best ways for me to quench my thirst and know  God is through his word.  As the deer who pants for water lays down in the water to get the maximum amount of water, I can maximimize my relationship with the Lord by reading daily his word. What an image for me to remind me to daily be in the Word and in prayer.

Leave a Reply

SHEREE POOLE MINISTRIES

INDUCTIVE BIBLE STUDIES

